

American Physical Society

One Physics Ellipse College Park, MD 20740-3844 aps.org

# President

**David J. Gross**Kavli Institute for
Theoretical Physics
University of California,
Santa Barbara

# President-Elect

Philip H. Bucksbaum Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

### Vice President

**Sylvester James Gates, Jr.** Brown Theoretical Physics Center Brown University

#### Past President

**Roger W. Falcone** University of California, Berkeley

# Chief Executive Officer

Kate P. Kirby American Physical Society September 18, 2019

Matjaz Perc University of Maribor Department of Physics Koroska cesta 160 Maribor, SI-2000 Slovenia

Dear Matjaz Perc,

It is my pleasure to inform you that you have been elected Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) by the APS Council of Representatives at its September meeting upon the recommendation of the APS Forum on Physics and Society (FPS). The number of APS Fellows elected each year is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the membership. It is a prestigious recognition by your peers of your outstanding contributions to physics. The citation that will appear on your fellowship certificate is:

"For seminal theoretical contributions to the physics of social systems which have strengthened the ties between physics and society through the promotion of human cooperation, the provisioning of public goods, and the maintenance of biodiversity."

Your name, institution, and citation will be published in an APS press release on the APS website (www.aps.org) on Thursday, September 19 and in the December issue of APS News. Presentation of fellowship certificates is usually done at the annual meeting of the unit through which you were elected. If you have any questions regarding the presentation of your certificate, please contact the FPS Secretary/Treasurer. Announcement of your election can be sent to your supervisor upon request and can be forwarded to your institution's public information office (please send us the relevant contact information). Congratulations on being elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Sincerely,

David Gross, APS President

cc: Stewart Prager, FPS Fellowship Selection Committee Chair Joel Primack, FPS Executive Committee Chair Anthony Fainberg, FPS Executive Committee Secretary/Treasurer